Not everyone is aware that notifying certain parties after a car accident is a legal requirement. Certain New York laws mandate drivers and passengers to report details of the accident if certain conditions are met. Notifying certain parties may also be important for your car accident claim and liability reasons. If you ever have any questions, talk to a New York City car accident attorney for answers.
Who to Notify After a Car Accident
The two most important parties to notify after a car accident are the police and the auto insurance company. You may also want to notify the driver's employer, vehicle owners, and family members of anyone else involved. This usually involves writing a car accident notification letter, something that could be required in some cases.
Many people write notification letters to their auto insurance company and the other driver's insurance company. Another option is to ask the other driver to inform their auto insurance company about the accident. Either method works but sending your own notification letter to the other driver's insurance company gives you more control.
The most important thing to keep in mind with your notification letter is to never imply fault on your part. Any wording you use could be used against your car accident claim, something that could prevent you from being compensated. In your notification letter, be sure to include things like:
- Dates and general details about the car accident
- Your basic contact information including your address
- The date the letter was written
The purpose of the letter is to inform the other person that you will be seeking compensation from them. Feel free to send these letters to anyone you think could be at fault. Try contacting a New York City car accident lawyer to show them your letter before sending the letter off. A lawyer can ensure your letter is well-written and cannot be used against your claim.
New York Laws for Car Accident Reporting
There are also New York car accident reporting laws that require drivers to report the accident to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Not doing so within 10 days of the accident could result in driver's license suspension. Reporting a car accident is mandated when injury or death occurred. This is also required if property damages go to $1,000 or more.
You can file a car accident report online or by having the police come to the accident scene. A copy of your accident report can often be accessed online or through your local police department. Feel free to ask a car accident lawyer any questions you have about this process.
New York City Car Accident Lawyer
You may not have to pay for your car accident damages. Call the Sullivan and Brill Law Firm today at (212) 566-1000 to speak with a New York personal injury attorney for a free consultation. Our Nassau County lawyers can help you seek compensation for lost income, pain and suffering, and medical costs. We serve clients in New York City, Long Island, Kings, Bronx, Queens, Richmond, Nassau, Suffolk, Westchester, and Rockland Counties, and San Juan, Puerto Rico.
There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.
Leave a Comment